Tolani IV

In the end, Tolani went along with Ofure’s ‘scheme’. She knew it was hypocritical of course, even demeaning and she was scared she might fall for Denrele eventually. But Ofure was in pain: “Tolani please help me, if you really believe that what Denrele did was wicked, please help me” she kept pleading. Tolani would argue: “But we would turn out to be exactly what we hate Denrele for; whatever happened to not repaying evil for evil to anyone?” Ofure would say: “I know about your morals and all but the point is, you and I dislike Denrele, he and I love you, can’t you see that you are our common denominator? Tolani began to prep herself for the adventure.

Denrele was shameless. He felt he deserved it when Tolani apologised on Ofure’s behalf (for nothing, really) and suggested they go out for a drink, “just to clear your head, besides I am as much your friend as Ofure’s” she enthused. It didn’t take much to convince him that just because he and Ofure’s relationship had gone sour doesn’t mean theirs has to. A few nice meals and well-done laundries later, the self-conceited and egotistic Denrele got baited and Tolani was in play!

It didn’t take long for them to be an item. He would take her on dates, help out with assignments, make sure her hair and nails are done and all. All the shows and events on campus had Denrele and Tolani as Vip attendees. Once, a girl who had known Denrele and Ofure together said something off-handed to Tolani, the look on Denrele’s face propelled her to apologise quickly. ‘Things couldn’t get any better’ Tolani jubilated.

He would call her severally during the day, just to ‘check up’. He went from ‘Tols’ (he never called her Tolani) to ‘babe’ to ‘mine’. ‘Why “mine”‘ she asked. ‘My peeps called each that’ came the reply. She knew he wasn’t really like this with Ofure and started to get worried. Ofure doused her fears by saying how sneaky and chameleonic he is.

Matters came to a head when Tolani got Denrele to apologise to Ofure for how he had treated Ofure. It shocked Ofure the most, as her assumptions about Denrele turned out to be wrong. Yeah, she wanted him to fall in love with Tolani and get his heart-broken, but not change to become a ‘nice’ guy or a ‘good’ man. She began to resent the person Denrele was becoming, the person he was choosing to become on account of Tolani. ‘Wasn’t I good enough?’ ‘Was my influence on him negative?’ she kept asking herself.

Then that night ‘happened’.

********************************************************

‘But who told him about your plans?’
‘I really don’t know…maybe Ofure did’
‘You think so?’
‘Yeah. She started acting all strange and pushy about everything, especially about the break-up thing. She said I was taking it too slow. That the longer I took, the more certain she is I will fall for him. Although, after that night she was all weepy and sorry and murderously angry with Denrele, but I knew something was amiss’.
‘Was she right about the former?’

Tolani looks at him, he averts his eyes. She picks her cup of coffee and takes a sip. The warmth reminds her of the many hot baths she took after that night, in vain attempts to wash it away, to wash him away along with the memories. She shrugs and says:

‘She was. I fell hard for him, real hard. Denrele actually worked hard to win my love. He told me once that he found me “intimidating”. I think he really meant he respected me’.

‘Maybe Ofure got jealous and threatened, felt you will spill the beans when you decide to tell Denrele about how you really felt…and she decided to do something about it’.

‘I don’t know Damian, we are just assuming’.
‘I am really sorry about everything, really. And your telling me about it means the world to me. I truly wish I could turn back the hands of time, Tolani’.
‘It’s ok Damian, I have forgiven you. Maybe you should think of taking a security job if you get tired of this one’

Damian smiles and Tolani laughs softly.’Everyone’s been asking after you at work, told them you took ill. Did Oga call you?’
‘He did o. Said to get well asap, needs me back for the evaluation’.

A knock interrupts Damian’s next statement.’Lemme get that’, he offered. He walks to the door and opens to see *drum roll*…Oga standing expressionless.

Gotcha!bet you guys thought it was Denrele, yeah? Next week folks! Plenty thanks for stopping by.

5 thoughts on “Tolani IV

Leave a comment